The Philippines: Devastation and Destruction

by shallownothings

I’ve been silent for a while but only because the Philippines has been hit by a series of unfortunate events. Yes dear friends, I’m from the Philippines.

First the 7.2 Magnitude Earthquake that killed hundreds and displaced thousands. Then, just two or three days ago (lost count, been sleepless) a Category 5 Super Typhoon called Haiyan covered the entire Philippines.

NASA satellite photos, and images from Japan and American weather authories showed how the Super Typhoon seemed to devour the entire country. It is said to be the biggest Typhoon in recorded history to ever be observed that made landfall. Imagine combinig the winds and wrath of Hurricanes Sandy and Katrina, and it still would not be equal to Haiyan. You can only imagine the extent of damages in Haiyan’s wake. But you don’t have to imagine it, we have the internet. Go ahead, search it. 10, 000 feared to be dead. Wasteland. $14 Billion in Damages.

One of the hard hit areas is a place close to my heart called Bantayan Island. It is so bad. 90% – 95% of homes have been destroyed. Thousands of families homeless, running out of water, food and loosing hope.

This is where I ask for your help. This is where I need you. As you know, I don’t like talking about personal things or things close to my heart but for this I’ve made an exception. My friends have set up a page called Bangon Bantayanons (Rise people of Bantayan Island) and they need donations in cash, and kind. Food, clothes, drinking, tents, medicines, and so many more. Theycan receive your donstions in kind. Or they can go out and buy the items that the people of Bantayan Island need.

If you’re interested in helping, or know of someone who is, please see the photo attached for details. Even if you have nothing to spare, I simply ask that you reblog this, share this, or just tell someone about it. That alone means the world to me, to the people of Bantayan Island, Cebu, Philippines.

image

